RSS

Cover #10 – Paula Abdul, “Straight Up”

10 Apr

Cover #10 is “Straight Up”, from Paula Abdul’s 1989 album Forever Your Girl.  It was written and produced by Elliot Wolff.

Yeah.   Really.
Look.  If you’ve seen me perform live as The Pluto Tapes, this doesn’t surprise you at all, as you’ve probably seen me cover this tune.  If you haven’t, you’re all like “what?”  And that’s understandable.  Seriously, though, when I was nine, I loved this song.

I didn’t know any better.  I didn’t care that it was a chick song about chick stuff and that instead I should be listening to such paragons of masculinity as Prince and Poison.  I just thought the tune had an infectious bounce and I thought the lady in the video was pretty.

Still love the song.  Still don’t care.  My version is slower and weirder, but still awesome.  At least my audiences think so.  Take that, Imaginary Schoolkids From 1989 In My Head!

DownloadStream.

Next up…:  All my friends are authors, all my relationships end badly, and I love reverb.  Who am I?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2009 in April Covers, music, nostalgia

 

4 responses to “Cover #10 – Paula Abdul, “Straight Up”

  1. Jon Martin

    April 10, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Morrissey?! Me? It’s me, isn’t it?

     
  2. Jen

    April 10, 2009 at 6:02 am

    I was going to comment yesterday, and just say jokingly, “Forever Your Girl.” I thought for sure that was what we had been waiting for.

    You are awesome.

     
  3. Julia

    April 10, 2009 at 7:08 am

    “paragons of masculinity as Prince and Poison”

    …yyyyeah.

     
  4. fever2tell

    April 12, 2009 at 1:03 am

    i have to agree with julia on this one, prince is not a paragon of masculinity.

    i would still have sex with him though. y’know, if i didn’t know you.

    and where is the cover of fairy tale new york that you and julia were going to do? huh?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

