RSS

songs you don’t know: Deconstruction, “L.A. Song”

24 Jun

(originally posted on MySpace.com)

Deconstruction – “LA Song”

This is what Dave Navarro and Eric Avery did after Jane’s Addiction broke up, before Dave joined the Chili Peppers and Eric dated Alanis Morrissette.

move out flat don’t rise up
one neighborhood
kraft cheese and a cup of joe raw fish in a burrito game show
straight to video in the land of the setting sun

Not a very good way of describing Deconstruction, it’s true, but if I told you that they sounded like Lou Reed fronting Bad Brains, you’d just look at me funny. So, never mind then. This is one of those Rage TV songs – it’s very obscure, it’s very good, and I first heard it at 2:30 in the morning on a summer evening when I was 14 at a very, very low volume. (Our house was small and had thin walls.)

this is no place
this takes place

There will, I promise, be an entire entry about Rage TV songs. I may even explain what I mean when I say that something is a “Rage TV song.” But not tonight – for now, just let “L.A. Song” wash over you. At least, until about the 1:30 mark, where it changes gears and kicks you in the head. It’s got a strange beauty all it’s own, and for all its 90s-ness, I love this video.

does your horizon burn?

I have lived here my whole life

I don’t need more stories

about your broken midwest boulevard dreams

stars also lie down that street

 

stars also lie down that street 

 

you pretty little town

you sad flower in the sand 

 

you pretty little town 

 

give me some of you 
 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 24, 2007 in music, nostalgia, songs you don't know, youtube

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “songs you don’t know: Deconstruction, “L.A. Song”

  1. JaneLame

    September 2, 2007 at 6:54 am

    Beautiful post, perfect song.

     

Leave a Reply

 
