RSS

…aaaand we’re back.

26 Sep

You know how the definition of insanity is supposed to be, like, doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results?  Whoever said that never used Windows. Anyway, my interwebs are go and let’s move on.

All right. Back to trying to figure this guy out.

::here, Andy978 sits down, actually watches video, pauses it around 0:51::

I think he’s serious, and that kind of frightens me.  He has a point, I guess – we tend to treat our celebrities like dancing meat robots who we expect to dance for us until we’re bored and then we feed them to the dog. I gotta admit, too, that even though I was sorta ripping on Britney for being bored and boring at the VMAs, I thought it was pretty unseemly how people were saying “and she’s fat now too, ha ha,” when seriously she wasn’t really.

I just can’t see myself getting this worked up over something like this. Kids are dying in Japan, guy. Weird Al says so.

::watches more of video, has to pause for “You’re lucky she even performed for you BASTARDS!”::

BWAHAHAHAHAAhee hee hee ohhhhkay.

Around 1:12, Chris name drops Paris Hilton and how she “talked about professionalism.” I think that’s when this stopped being funny and started being hilarious.  A time in which we’re taking Paris Hilton seriously is a time for laughter.

At 1:40, Chris tells us to “LEAVE BRITNEY SPEARS ALONE RIGHT…. NOW!” as if we’re playing ball in the house with her implants or something.  Man, this kid’s distraught.

I’m a fan.  I’m a Red Sox fan and a Nine Inch Nails fan and a Doctor Who fan.  The thing is, when the press rips into any of these three things, which I hold dear, part of my fannish nature seems to be to look at the source of the controversy, analyze it, and then mock jovially that which I love. Unless the one who’s doing the mocking is Dan Shaughnessy, any music critic who didn’t like The Fragile, or this one guy who posts as Sparacus and doesn’t know what the hell he’s talking about. Those people should just shut the hell up.

So, I can get being a Britney fan, but I can’t get this particular Britney fan’s level of pissybabyboohoo-itude. Yeah, the press is cruel to celebrities because it sells papers and people are mean. However, Britney brought a lot of that on herself by not doing her job.  If Trent Reznor released a single called “Let’s March Of The Pigs Again Like We Did Last Summer,” I’d feel the same way.

However…

…the kid’s strange, yes, he’s expressing his emotions over something it’s weird to express your emotions over, true, but… are we all just a little uncomfortable with him because he’s…. emotional? Because he’s a feminine guy with eyeliner weeping into a camera? I’m asking myself that, and I’m wondering if the reason this guy’s become the YouTube celeb du jour is because of a latent homophobia – does Chris Crocker represent the feminine id that all men, gay or straight, are supposed to deny? Is he, in reality, breaking down the last taboo of masculinity with his latest tirade?

Nah. That kid’s just messed up.

By the way, god bless Seth Green.

Note: I swear to God, that’s the last post about Chris Crocker or Britney Spears for a very long time. Although the kid is getting his own reality show. I kid you not.

Umm…er… okay. One more thing, because my friend Dan is funny.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2007 in it's chris crocker, youtube

 

3 responses to “…aaaand we’re back.

  1. Danee Jones

    February 20, 2008 at 7:10 am

    yep lol he is a wierdo roing in ed the m8!!!

    SPAZ

     
  2. Nicole

    August 27, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I think he was referring to PEREZ HILTON and not Paris Hilton, as you posted.

     
  3. geekusa

    August 27, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Ah. Well then….

    ..I maintain that, any time we’re taking PEREZ Hilton seriously, is also a time for laughter.

     

Leave a Reply

 
