RSS

don’t say there’s nothing to do in the Doldrums…

24 Oct

According to Wikipedia, Warner Home Video will be releasing The Phantom Tollbooth movie on DVD sometime soon.

I think you all know what to get me for Christmas.

One of the best memories I have from childhood is my mother reading The Phantom Tollbooth to me when I was six or seven.  I could read pretty early on, but I still liked reading with my parents – it’s that shared experience-thing I’ve always treasured.   I liked being able to discuss what was going on with them, and I think they appreciated being able to re-read the stories.  Besides, until you’ve heard my mother’s Humbug voice, you haven’t lived.

(The Humbug is one of the three central characters in The Phantom Tollbooth, by the way.  If Milo, the boy who finds the titular tollbooth in his room one day after school and is transported into a strange alternate reality full of whimsical and helpful puns, is the ego, and Tock, his faithful and task-minded dog, is the superego, the Humbug represents the Id.  It’s a classic trio structure.)

I really need to re-read the book anyway, because it was one of my favorites, but the movie was pretty spectacular too and features some great Chuck Jones animation and some fantastic voice over work from Mel Blanc and June Foray, who were the go-to-folks for good cartoon voice work in the ’60s and ’70s.  I also think that it may be high time they grabbed Freddie Highmore or the little kid from Malcolm In The Middle or someone and did a re-make – unlike Bridge To Terabithia, it wouldn’t smack of blasphemy.

They are, however, making a Ramona movie.  And, sure, fine, go ahead, but there’s already been an amazing version of the Ramona books produced in visual media, and it starred a very young Sarah “Canadian Indie Goddess” Polley as the young Ms. Quimby.  Unfortunately, it’s ridiculously hard to find. That’s why we love YouTube.  Let’s see if this is as good as I remember…

Well now!  I don’t remember Beverly Cleary writing that!   Such language from a Newbury Award winner!  No, haha, that’s actually Ramona Quimby, the all-girl punk band from Gainesville, Fl.  They actually kind of rock.

There are also, apparently, two filmic adaptations of From The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler … here’s the older of the two (the one that doesn’t star Lauren Bacall)…

..not a lot going on here, but those kids, you see, ran away from home to live at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and they solve a mystery about a statue, and it’s really pretty good.  Oh, and, lest we forget, the TV series based on Judy Blume’s Fudge books, starring Jan Brady as Fudge’s mom.

No, I can’t understand a word Fudge is saying either.  Here’s part two:

Serves you people right for letting Sheila the Great babysit.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 24, 2007 in movies, nostalgia, youtube

 

Leave a Reply

 
