RSS

from Salon.com: Hillary Clinton 1, Chris Matthews O

09 Jan

Rebecca Traister, from Salon, has a great article about how the press declared Hillary’s candidacy dead too soon on account of them being mean boys.

(Well, maybe that’s a bit pejorative – it’s a good article and she makes an excellent point. I just really enjoy being snarky.)

So no, I have not been a Hillary Clinton supporter. But the torrent of ill-disguised hatred and resentment unleashed toward a briefly weakened Clinton this week shook that breezy naivet√© right out of me, and made me feel something that all the hectoring from feminist elders could not: guilt for not having stood up for Hillary. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but had I been a New Hampshire voter on Tuesday, I would have pulled a lever for the former first lady with a song in my heart and a bird flipped at MSNBC’s Chris Matthews, a man whose interest in bringing Clinton down hovers on the pathological, and whose drooling excitement at the prospect of her humiliation began to pulse from the television last week before most Iowa precincts had even begun to report results.

Read the whole thing here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2008 in not here, not me, politics

 

Leave a Reply

 
