RSS

from Boston.com: Our Fair City Leads Charge Against… Trans-Fats

10 Jan

This from Boston.com.  Apparently, the Boston Public Health Commission has taken preliminary measures to ban trans-fats within city limits

mickeydburger.jpg

I completely understand the health concerns here, even if this feels a liiiiiiittle bit fascist.  I mean, this isn’t like smoking, where others are at risk if you light up – shouldn’t it be my choice whether or not I want to clog my arteries?   However, I gotta say, I like the idea of pork rinds and onion rings being shunted off to shady underground speak-easies, full of shifty-eyed junk food junkies, gathered together to indulge in the last vice of the American citizen.

As the great philosopher Homer Simpson once said: “Mmmmm.  Forbidden doughnut.”

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2008 in boston rock city, politics

 

3 responses to “from Boston.com: Our Fair City Leads Charge Against… Trans-Fats

  1. Bill D.

    January 11, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Everyone says I worry too much about this sort of thing, but legally being able to say “you can’t eat that here” or “smokers aren’t allowed to work here” seems to me like the beginning of the path that leads to “Non-Christians aren’t welcome” and “Gay? Not so much in my country, mister.”

    And maybe I am too paranoid, but to paraphrase another great TV philosopher, sleepy-eyed Joel Robinson, evil works a lot better when it starts off subtly.

     
  2. Lauryn

    January 11, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Hmmm…That sort of law would never fly in Florida. Driving around Sarasota, it seems like every two feet you see a Checkers, IHOP, Bennigan’s, KFC, Sonic, Wendy’s, Popeye’s, Perkins, etc. And that doesn’t even cover the multitude of hole-in-the-wall dive-y sports pubs. This town is one massive arterial blockage waiting to happen.

    The other thing this made me think is…will the Red Sox get special dispensation to keep serving their Fenway Franks? Cause goodness knows, those are boiled in the juicy goodness of trans fats. Mmmmmhmmm.

    -Lauryn

     
  3. geekusa

    January 11, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Bill – Yeah – while “you can’t smoke in here” has never really bothered me, the idea of “if you smoke, you can’t work here” strikes me as pretty scary. I mean, define smoke. Are we talking 2 pack a day chain smoker here or are we talking bummed a cigarette from a friend while out drinking? And who put you in charge of what I do on the weekends?

    Lauryn – one would hope so. I think they can make hot dogs without trans fats, but the idea is still freaky.

     

Leave a Reply

 
