RSS

songs you probably know: “Dare To Be Stupid”, Weird Al

13 Jan

You probably know this song, but it’s worth mentioning.  I loved this song/video when I was ten.  Most of the things I loved when I was ten have since proved themselves to be sophomoric at best – I currently find the Teenaged Mutant Ninja Turtles, for example, to be somewhat lacking in tone and structure.  However, “Dare To Be Stupid”, by Weird Al, truly stands the test of time.  Eighteen years ago, I thought it was funny that Weird Al’s head was in a pot of mashed potatoes.  Today, I recognize the Devo/Dadaist influences and appreciate the marriage of pop cultural slogans and signifiers with the one repeated phrase that truly sums up life in the media age: the titular “Dare to be stupid.”  

Also, it’s funny that Weird Al’s head is in a pot of mashed potatoes. 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2008 in music, songs you don't know, youtube

 

6 responses to “songs you probably know: “Dare To Be Stupid”, Weird Al

  1. Lauryn

    January 14, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Sigh.

    I remember this song vividly.

    I *loved* this song and still have it on an old Weird Al compilation tape somewhere in a shoebox or something in my room in RI. I may not know exactly where the tape is, but I know I would *never* have gotten rid of my Weird Al.

    Oh and Andy….”you can paint your Dada…” *smiles at dorky inside joke and runs away*

    -Lauryn

     
  2. Julia

    January 15, 2008 at 10:44 am

    And it was featured prominently in the Transformers movie in the scene with the Junkeons who were all voiced by Eric Idle!

    …what? Don’t look at me like that.

     
  3. fever2tell

    January 15, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Agh! When I was a kid I would annoy the hell outta my parents with this song. It wasn’t until I got older that I noticed he was doing a spot on Mark Mothersbaugh impression, and that he manages to mimic pretty much everyone he parodies with the same clarity both musicall and with his physical action.

    In short, Weird Al is a totaly genius. An annoying genius, but a genius nonethless!

     
  4. Bill D.

    January 16, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Did you ever see the Weird Al episode of Behind the Music? Mark Mothersbaugh seemed legitimately bothered that Al wrote a better Devo song than he ever did.

    Also, if you’ve never done so in the past, see Al in concert at least once. That man puts on a show and a half.

     
  5. fever2tell

    January 17, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Mark Mothersbaugh really doesn’t have a sense of humor about himself.

    I’d totally see Weird Al in concert! DOes he even tour anymore?

     
  6. geekusa

    January 18, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Actually, Mr. Mothersbaugh was self-deprecatingly wry about the whole affair, as I recall.

    He does tour, usually playing places like the Cape Cod Music Conch, or whatever they call it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
