RSS

John Edwards to drop out

30 Jan

According to Yahoo! (via the AP), John Edwards will be dropping out of the presidential race today.

See, I’ve gone back and forth over the past few months between Obama and Edwards.  I find the way Obama speaks inspiring, but I find the things Edwards says to be equally inspiring.   He’s right: there are two Americas, and most of the problems with this country could be fixed by first admitting that, yep, class is important here, and that things are stacked against poor folk to an unfair degree.

I look at both Obama and Edwards, and I think that I want to live in a country where one of those two could be President, because not only are they charismatic but they actually seem to care.  Edwards seems to care just a little too much sometimes, but maybe that’s why I respected him and might’ve voted for him on Super Tuesday.

He’ll make a great Attourney General, though, won’t he?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2008 in politics

 

3 responses to “John Edwards to drop out

  1. ChrisClark

    January 30, 2008 at 11:53 am

    i know that i’m the only one, but i don’t find either of them inspiring at all. obama, frankly, annoys the hell out of me. not sure why. he just does.

    it also annoyed me that every other candidate in the race was bombarding me with literature before the NH primary, but obama never sent me a damn thing.

    anyway, i’ll vote for him relunctantly if he’s the democratic nominee, but i don’t have any faith that he can deliver the change that he’s promising.

     
  2. geekusa

    January 30, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Fair point, ChrisClark. Politicians rarely do. Bush-the-campaigner was light years different than Bush-the-President, even before 9/11. Obama does sometimes come across as sorta smug, but think about this: if the United States of America elects a black guy named Barack Hussein Obama to the Oval Office, doesn’t that pretty much undo like 70% of the ill will we’ve spread throughout the world over the last eight years?

     
  3. ChrisClark

    January 30, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Oh yeah. I mean… I guess I’m more disturbed by my reaction to him than I am by the man himself. I can’t figure out why he bothers me, and that, well, bothers me. He seems like he could be a good leader, and I know lots of others believe that he will be.

     

Leave a Reply

 
