RSS

now *that’s* petty.

04 Feb

 

Here’s what Yahoo news had for me this morning re: last night’s bizarre and shocking development in Arizona:

The Pats were runnin’ down a dream of perfection, but the heavy favorites wound up free fallin’.

Get it? Cuz Tom Petty was on the Half-time show?  Ohhh, Yahoo headline writer, I’m sure glad Microsoft is gonna downsize your a** you certainly are a card.

You don’t know how it feels to be Tom Brady.  Especially after Eli and the Giants said “Don’t come around here no more.”  See, they won’t back down.  They will… stand… their… ground, and make you run away like American girls. 

 

Okay, I’m done now.  By the way, Tom was great.  Petty, that is, not Brady.  Sure, he played the shortened, TV-approved versions of four of his biggest hits, but that’s okay.  There’s a whole essay to be written about the “montage” approach to Big Televised Music Events, and how some executive somewhere must’ve thought it was a good idea for musicians to perform three one-minute snippets of each song instead of the whole thing, and how it amounts to perfect television for “wallpaper music” lovers but still remains an insult to the craft of songwriting for those of use who care, but we’ll do that another time. 

In all honesty, I’m not too saddened by this.  The Pats had become such a foregone conclusion – winning 17 games this year and all – that the prospect of them winning the Super Bowl as well seemed a little, well, boring.  The Pats, in short, had become the bad guys, the guys that you wanted to see fall, and I’m saying this as a born-and-bred New Englander and an employee of a radio station that broadcasts their games IN HIGH DEFINITION.  The Pats had their offensive line and a year of victories behind them.  The Giants, however, had a two-word strategy: Kill Brady, and in the end, they were just a little luckier. 

Seriously, though, I’ll bet your average “Mix 103FM for your workday!” listener thought that Tom Petty played three whole songs last night, when in fact he only played the parts of “American Girls”, “Running Down A Dream”, and “Free Fallin'” that most people remember.  Remember those commercials from a couple years ago where Mr. T burst through the wall and yelled at the guy who was singing the wrong words in the shower?  I wanted that to happen.  However, the Heartbreakers still sounded great.

So, ya know, congrats to the Pats for a great season, and congrats to the Giants for a great game.  You want to send death threats, you know where to find me. 

Oh, and Beth (inevitably) will put it better than I did over at Cursed to First.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2008 in boston rock city, games, music

 

2 responses to “now *that’s* petty.

  1. Lauryn

    February 4, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Graaargg….

    I have mixed feelings about this post.

    But I started to write a reply once already, realized I was ranting and had gone on and on, and so I deleted and started over.

    I guess I’ll just leave it at this…I agree about everything you said regarding the music.
    I also agree that it was a fantastic game. Great play on both sides.

    But, I personally disagree about the outcome of the game. I’m not saddened, exactly…but I am extremely frustrated. I understand what you’re saying about the perception out there of the Pats as “Bad Guys” and that a lot of people had started to want to see them get knocked down…but I’m not one of them. I really wanted to see them win and have that perfect season…it’s such an elusive thing, and they’ll probably never get the chance of it again. I don’t think that it would’ve been boring.

    And, you have to admit, that the next several months worth of Manning-and-Manning TV commercials with which we’re now sure to be inundated will be horrific. Blecch.

    Sigh.

    -Lauryn

     
  2. beth

    February 16, 2008 at 9:51 am

    i know you’re not really into football, so i can see why the pats as bad guys storyline would jump out at you, since everyone but the most die-hard patriots fan hates them this year. but as a die-hard patriots fan, i feel the need to point out that from my perspective, that storyline was created out of a few grains of truth, and heapin’ helpins o’ bitterness, envy, schadenfreunde, spite and hypocrisy.

    thanks for the link!

     

Leave a Reply

 
