RSS

cable news is dead

21 Feb

It’s not, actually, but you should read Chez Pazienza’s article about how he got fired from CNN because of his opinionated blogging, anyway (from The Huffington Post).

As far as CNN (and to be fair, the mainstream TV press in general) believes, it still sits comfortably at the top of the food chain, unthreatened by any possibility of a major paradigm shift being brought to bear by a horde of little people with laptops and opinions. Although the big networks recognize the need to appeal to bloggers, they don’t fear them — and that means that they don’t respect them. Corporate-think dictates that the mainstream television press as a monstrous multi-headed hydra is the ultimate news authority and therefore is in possession of the one and only hotline to the ghosts of Murrow and Sevareid. Sure those bloggers are entertaining, but in the end they’re really just insects who either feed off the carcasses of news items vetted through various networks or, when they do break stories, want nothing more than to see themselves granted an audience by the kingmakers on television.

This, of course, is horseshit.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 21, 2008 in i hate teh internetz, politics, tv

 

One response to “cable news is dead

  1. fever2tell

    February 21, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Um, well…. they should be scared because when I want to know what’s going on in the world right now I don’t turn on my TV anymore, I open up my computer or turn on NPR. There are about 3 or 4 blogs (this being one of them) that have broken major news stories for me in the past 6 months. Because I no longer trust network news I prefer to get my news from the interweb anyway. This may mean I need to fact check, click all the links in an entry and make sure I know opinion from fact and I’m down with the blogger’s spin on things. It may also mean I need to take a spin on the BBC website before I form an opinion, but hey, I find that far preferable to getting my news from a network that considers Brittney’s c-section scars as ten o clock news-worthy.

    The point is, blogging is the thinking person’s revenge and the wave of the future. We’ve got a generation of kids about ot come of age that trust the web more than they trust any other authority. CNN should be afriad. Very afraid.

     

Leave a Reply

 
