RSS

songs you don’t know: “Space”, Something Corporate

01 Jun

Again, this is a song you might know – it was a minor hit back in the winter of 2003.  It’s an angsty little number about…. well, it’s really about how Orange County sucks, but more or less it’s about wanting to be left alone.  I don’t particularly want to be left alone, but I’m really digging this song again right now.  Nor do I particularly want it to be the winter of 2003 again, but this song is making me feel nostalgic for the winter of 2003 anyway.  A little.  Not a lot.  Just a little.

There are a lot of things that are better now than they were back then.  However, this particular song does remind me of how one particular thing is not – is really not – any better at all.  Without going into detail, it makes me miss how awesome the future was going to be back then.

That vague enough for ya?  Look, if you really want to know, I’ll tell you.  Just not here.

Anyway, Something Corporate.  Very underrated band.  They were sort of lumped in with all the other generic emo-pop-punk bands that appeared around that time, and that’s sad, because they’ve got some really good songs.  Someone once said that they’re more like a dead-serious Ben Folds Five than (say) Blink 182, and that pretty much makes sense.  “Konstantine”, if you can find it, is a truly epic nine-minute tale of adolescent love gone wrong that you would have loved when you were 15.  “Miss America” has one of the most gorgeous choruses I’ve ever heard.  And “Space” just sort of rules.  Might not be your cup of tea.  It’s definitely OC emo.  I still like it.

 
 

2 responses to “songs you don’t know: “Space”, Something Corporate

  1. Bill D.

    June 1, 2008 at 8:36 am

    I think if anything did in Something Corporate, it was the endless replaying of :If U C Jordan,” which was whiny, sneery, and made improper use of the Prince song-naming system (which only really works if you’re Prince, I say). At least that’s what did it for me.

    But you tend not to like things that are terrible, so maybe I was too quick to judge.

     
  2. geekusa

    June 9, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Welllll… “If U C Jordan” was supposed to be sort of a pun, as in ‘F U… etc. I’m on a library computer right now, so I don’t want to continue lest the library police of the 21st century come and eat me, but you know what I mean.

    The dude’s voice can be sorta whinysneery. It works, sometimes, though, in an “aww, bless him,” kind of way. “Space” I like cuz he sounds more cranky than emo, and if you’ve heard the music I try to write, that’s sort of what I’m going for. Less whine, more crank.

     

Leave a Reply

 
