RSS

rnc sidebar IV: trust me, I’ll get there.

05 Sep

All right… like I said at the end of my last post, I didn’t watch McCain’s speech as it aired.  I was too worked up, and anyway John and Jenn invited me over to play Rock Band with them, which seemed like a better use of my time.  Upon returning home, I did catch the first half of Sen. McCain’s acceptance speech on C-Span before heading to bed.  It seemed stately, if uninspiring, although I’m told it got better. 

I’ll watch the rest of it when I get a chance, and let you know what I thought.  I’ll just say this, though: all the things that “went wrong” for the RNC this year seemed to give it a certain rag-tag “hey, kids, let’s get together and put on a show,” vibe that may prove more effective than the pitch perfect, choreographed, Broadway-esque DNC.  Republicans, as you know, are really good at pretending to be average Joes.  They’ll throw on a cowboy hat, join you for a chili dog at the stock car race, and gripe with ya about those immigrants stealing your jobs.  (Then, they’ll steal your job.)

So, a slightly awkwardly produced, no-frills, standing-strong-in-the-face-of-unspeakable-chaos sort of convention actually benefits them, in the same way that Gov. Palin’s daughter’s pregnancy benefits them.  It shows that they, too, are human, even if they don’t really seem to care about, um, humans.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
