RSS

with a who and a whatnow?

08 Oct

Yahoo! news, whatever else you wanna say about it, does occasionally amuse.  Every now and then, I’ll go to check my email and it’ll cack up something pretty spectacular, like a hairball made of gold, right onto my computer screen.  Take today, for example.  This… is literally… what I read:

“Quantum of Solace” star Gemma Arterton is exceptional for her beauty — and her extra fingers.

No word of a lie.  Here’s the article, for reals.  This gorgeous dame, the next Bond girl, was born with six fingers on each hand.  And, frankly, that’s sort of awesome.  That’s got to come in seriously handy, no pun intended.  Like, if you ever had to say “I can could on one hand the number of eggs that are in this half-dozen egg carton,”  you’d be all set.

Except, of course, that the extra fingers were removed at birth.  Which is truly a pity, methinks.  Bands are always looking for chick bassists, and that extra digit would certainly be an advantage.  Also, she’s playing a Bond girl, and just imagine the naughty name they could have come up with for her character.  “Dodecahottie” comes to mind, but that’s because I’m not very creative.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “with a who and a whatnow?

  1. woze

    October 13, 2008 at 12:00 am

    i was born with six fingers on my left hand. nyah.

    in america they really frown upon that. me mum wanted me to keep it, as it’s considered good luck in asia. the doctor managed to convince her to amputate with tales of my complete social ostracism and eventual matricide. there’s a picture of me at around two years old, with my left hand all bandaged and bulgy and my face dominated by pout.

     
  2. Krystal

    January 20, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Maybe she had them removed because they weren’t fully developed. I was born with six fingers only on my right hand. It is fully functional and most people don’t even notice because it looks completely normal..until I try to wear gloves. Mittens are cute when you’re 5, not 33. I’d love to learn to play bass, tried it a few years ago..

    PS
    I love The Princess Bride.

    Krystal

     

Leave a Reply

 
