RSS

Please take care of this bear

13 Oct

Paddington Bear is 50 years young today.  If you go on over to Google, you’ll see this:

…which is very nice of them.

I once stayed in a hostel in the Paddington area of London, which meant, of course, that the first thing I did was to go to the train station and look for Paddington Bear.  And, lo and behold, there he was.

Here’s the first segment of the awesome stop-motion animated series they made about Paddington, which was shown in the US on Nickelodeon’s Pinwheel.   Paddington was the only good reason to watch Pinwheel.   I know some of you are nostalgic about Pinwheel, but it was terrible and I’m right and you’re wrong, so there.  Today’s Special was totally better, no matter what the other kids at day-care said.

They also showed it as part of Romper Room (which kicked Pinwheel’s ass from here to Sunday.)

Anyway… on to Paddington:

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Please take care of this bear

  1. Julia

    October 13, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I’m so with you on “Today’s Special”.

    It’s not unnatural to have a crush on a mannequin if he can actually come to life and dance, right?

    Also, he totally hung out with the Canadian Brass one time! And as a young trombone player, that is truly a mark of epic awesomeness if ever there was one.

     
  2. Bill D.

    October 14, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I never enjoyed Today’s Special or Pinwheel, but Romper Room was the (Doo)bee’s knees, especially the 80s version with Miss Molly, Up-Up, Granny Cat, and Kimble. And yeah, probably saw all of the Paddington shorts on there at one time or another. Those, and “Simon in the Land of Chalk Drawings,” which of course is where Mike Myers stole the theme song from for his Simon character on SNL. It always bugged me when people would sing that version instead of the real one, because if there has been one constant in my life, it’s that I’ve always been bothered by stupid, truly unimportant things.

    But yeah, Romper Room ruled. Even if they did never say my name during Magic Mirror time.

     
  3. Shelley

    October 18, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Oh, Paddington. I think he was entirely responsible for my childhood love of marmalade. Between him and Winnie the Pooh, I was all set with cuddly bears and toast toppings. Mmm, marmalade and honey…

    And I loved Pinwheel, and I will fight you to the death to defend it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
