RSS

ugliest building in the world found in Boston

14 Nov

Virtual Tourist (virtualtourist.com) has announced their Top 10 Ugliest Buildings in the world.

And guess what they picked for Numbah One, guy?

That’s Boston City Hall, folks.  “Neo-Brutalist.”   They call this style “neo-brutalist.”

My roommate Josh suggests that it might be a good place to hide out during a zombie invasion, due to its many nooks and crannies in which one can hide with a sniper rifle.  My mother was a tour guide back in the ’60s, and so it was her job to explain to people that it was actually a very good design, because it had something to do with water.

Me, the only thing I can say is this:  one day, back when I lived across the river in Brighton, I had to go there for a parking pass.  I had my iPod with me, and I was listening to the audio book of George Orwell’s 1984.   As I stood, nestled in the belly of the concrete monstrosity, waiting in an absurdly long line that snaked up and down MC Escher staircases and passed dark doors with bureaucratic signs staffed by angry and bitter women under a flourescent pallor… let’s just say I had a new-found appreciation for the power of the written word.

(Addendum: Neo-brutalist buildings look cool for about five years, and then immediately become massive eyesores.  The only exception is the library on the UCSD campus, which still looks like something out of Space Invaders, but in a fun way.  Prince Charles said it best: “You have to give this much to the Luftwaffe -when it knocked down our buildings, it didn’t replace them with anything more offensive than rubble.”

Still not convinced?  Read what this guy has to say.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “ugliest building in the world found in Boston

  1. Lauryn

    November 14, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    That UCSD Library isn’t neo-brutalist, it’s neo-cute-alist.

    Um, yes…I *should* be smacked for that.

    It’s Friday. I worked till 9 p.m. I’m punchy. So sue me.

    -Lauryn

     
  2. fruitflavor

    November 15, 2008 at 11:35 am

    I used to work at City Hall. In the basement. They have mice. Lots of mice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
