RSS

geekUSA is brought to you by…: Hershey’s Whatchamacallit!

12 Dec

We’ll get back to Christmas this weekend.  There’s been a slight change of plans on that front – the schedule (and there really is one, and I’m not sharing) originally called for The Animaniacs Christmas Special: A Christmas Plotz this weekend, but we’re tossing that out in lieu of something else.  No offense to The Animaniacs.  The Animaniacs molded my brain into the shape it’s in today.  However, were I to write about The Animaniacs, I’d be all “yay! I love this part!” and “Oh, Wakko, you’re totally fun to do the voice of,” and “ooh! Pinky and the Brain!” and there’s nothing interesting about that at all.  Dissonance is interesting.  Conflict is interesting.  Snark is interesting.  Gushing is not.

In the meantime, I give you a commercial that has nothing to do with Christmas whatsoever.

Late ’80s pop art gives me nostalgic thrills to begin with, but here, it’s merged with chocolate and a very chic Blondie/Freezepop-esque soundtrack.  What’s not to love?  This commercial used to come on during Double Dare – it seems very teen focused, but I’m pretty sure us pre-teens were supposed to watch it and think “oh! Whatchamacallit candy bars will make me cool! Like a teenager MOMMMMMMMMMMMM!”

This is how marketing works.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 12, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “geekUSA is brought to you by…: Hershey’s Whatchamacallit!

  1. Lauryn

    December 12, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Narf. Poit. Troz. Zort.

    By the way, I *am* thinking what you’re thinking.

    AND I want a Whatchamacallit….Good God, Andrew…within three days you’ve caused me to crave a McDLT and a Whatchamacallit…my arteries will be swimming in retro-cholesterol.

    (But they’ll be happy).

    -Lauryn

     

Leave a comment