RSS

Radiohead snubs Miley Cyrus! ZOMG! >_<

13 Mar

VS.

Yeah, this apparently happened.  I shook my head and went “woobly-wah?” at first too, but this is fo’ realz.

At the Grammy awards last year, Miley “Hannah Montana” Cyrus was real excited about meeting… Radiohead.   Yep, Miley likes Radiohead.  This is like saying the Pope digs Tupac, I know, but apparently, it’s true.  She refers to them as the only band who makes her cry, as her rock-and-roll Gods, and… well, they had no time for her.

It looks like they thought they were too cool to be seen with the teen pop princess, but from what I know of Thom Yorke, he’s so painfully shy that he’d probably blow off the Dalai Lama, and so anemic that it makes sense that he’d be too tired at the end of a grueling awards show.  That’s not a knock on him being all “boo hoo, I’m a celebrity,” – he honestly seems like the sort of person who becomes physically tired when he’s forced to be social.  I know a lot of people like this, so I sort of feel for him.

The only reason this caught my attention was the combination of “Radiohead” and “Miley Cyrus” in the same headline.  It’s not something you expect to see.  It’s like discovering the phrases  “Nuclear disarmament” and “The Teletubbies” on the cover of Time magazine.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2009 in music

 

2 responses to “Radiohead snubs Miley Cyrus! ZOMG! >_<

  1. Jon Martin

    March 13, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    I should say, on behalf of poor old Thom, that he did take the time to stop and say hello to me on a busy, rainy street in Oxford. From what I gathered from fellow students, he did that sort of thing all the time. If he had time for me, well…

     
  2. Jimbo Jones

    March 19, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    he apparently blew off Kanye as well, so don’t feel bad little Miley. *pats head* I’m sure she’d be all “Oh my god, I identify with your songs so much, I like, have a green plastic watering can too, and sometimes, like I think my friends talk way too much and it totally sounds like a fridge! OMG!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
