RSS

songs you don’t know: The Big Pink, “Velvet”

17 Mar

I literally heard this song an hour ago, but I love it.  It’s like (BAND X) meets (BAND Y).

Or… well, it’s like a more atmospheric, weird version of that electro-rock stuff that’s makin’ a splash these days, somewhere between MGMT and TV on the Radio.  Or… um… what Depeche Mode would be doing now if they were new.

Video probably NSFW.  Nothing too graphic, but it’s full of Artsy Bondage Imagery(tm) and your vanilla co-workers might freak out.

Seriously.  Give it a listen, tell me what you think.  I’m digging this song a lot, and can’t wait until the single comes out in April.  (they’re on 4AD… you could’ve guessed.)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 17, 2009 in music, songs you don't know, youtube

 

One response to “songs you don’t know: The Big Pink, “Velvet”

  1. Jimbo Jones

    March 19, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Pretty cool, sounds considerably “darker” than MGMT, the beats and vibe anyway. I can’t put my finger on who they remind me of and it’s bothering me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
