RSS

Announcing….The April Covers Project!

30 Mar

As March came in like an lamb, it shall go out like an amp.

I’ve decided to do this because I haven’t seen anyone else do it, and I figured, hey, I’ve got a microphone, a computer, and time, why the hell not?  My goal is to record a different cover song every single day in April and post it here, at GeekUSA.

Wait, I’m sorry – it’s possible you didn’t hear me.  Let me write that in bold.  I will be recording and posting a brand new cover song, recorded by me, every day, throughout the month of April.

I’m knocking out a few tracks tonight, just for the sake of doin’ ’em early, and on April Fools Day, we’ll start this puppy rollin.’  (Do puppys roll?  I’ve never seen a puppy roll.  I’ve seen an egg roll, I’ve seen a tuna roll, and I’ve seen a Rick Roll, but I ain’t never seen… oh never mind.)

Oooh… and.. AND!  If you have any suggestions of artists or songs I should tackle, feel free to leave them in the comments.  Doesn’t matter how odd or obscure – some of the covers will be of songs and bands you’d never think I’d play.

Looking forward to this little experiment….

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2009 in April Covers, music

 

9 responses to “Announcing….The April Covers Project!

  1. Julia

    March 31, 2009 at 10:32 am

    A few suggestions off the top of my head…

    The Lovehammers, “Trees”
    Rihanna, “Umbrella”
    Postal Service, “Such Great Heights”
    Jonathan Coulton, “Skullcrusher Mountain”
    The LA’s, “There She Goes”
    Michael Penn, “No Myth”

     
  2. Julia

    March 31, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Oh, oh!

    Also…

    Paris Hilton, “Screwed”
    Steely Dan, “Deacon Blues”
    Stellar Vector, “Houston Complex”
    My Chemical Romance, “The Black Parade”
    Spoon, “The Underdog”

    (I promise I’ll stop now.)

     
  3. E. Christopher Clark

    March 31, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Excellent!

    How about:
    “Look at the Wind Blow” by Ellis Paul (features the line “there is nothing to do in this town at night / but sit in my car and watch the street light”)

    “Walk Like an Egyptian” (for old time’s sake… do you remember playing that at the end of your first Brand X show?)

    Any Nine Inch Nails song you feel like

    Any Lemonheads track (“It’s a Shame About Ray”?)

    I’d suggest “Never Forget” by Pop Bubblegum Trash, but that wouldn’t really count, since you co-wrote it. 😛

     
  4. E. Christopher Clark

    March 31, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Ooh, ooh! And I’m with Julia on “Umbrella” and “Such Great Heights”.

     
  5. beth

    March 31, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    As you probably know, you would be my personal freakin’ hero if you were to put that Titanic cover on the Interwebs for all to see. But I know you prob. won’t do that.

    Parachute. Want an updated recording of your cover.

    The Used, Buried Myself Alive, cause you sound like that guy already anyway.

    Either “Today” or “Mayonnaise” from the Pumpkins catalog.

    “Half Jack”

    BTW I’m geeking the f out over this.

     
  6. beth

    March 31, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Ooh! Ooh! Second Chris on “It’s a Shame about Ray”

     
  7. Lauryn

    April 1, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Dangit!! Beth beat me to “Parachute”!! But I give it a wholehearted second. 🙂

    Other thoughts:

    “Run” – Eric Lichter
    “Black Velvet Band” – Dropkick Murphys

    and, for an endurance challenge…

    “We Didn’t Start the Fire” – Billy Joel

    There are a couple more I can think of, but I need to look at track names…I’ll be back later!!

    This is so exciting!!
    Best,
    -Lauryn

     
  8. Lauryn

    April 1, 2009 at 9:48 am

    As promised, a few more ideas:

    “This Low” – The Swell Season
    “Leave” – The Swell Season
    (Though really, *anything* off their album…)
    “No More I Love Yous” – Annie Lennox
    “Night Swimming” – REM
    “Grazed Knees” – Snow Patrol
    “Set Down Your Glass” – Snow Patrol
    “Nobody Puts Baby In The Corner” – Fall Out Boy
    “Failing In Love” – Joe, Marc’s Brother
    “Two Points for Honesty” – Guster
    “Two of Us” – The Beatles
    aaaaand….if you’re feeling especially nostalgic:
    “Happy Frappy” – Guster

    I promise I’ll stop now. I’m surprised at myself for not throwing more Guster into the mix…but I kind of think that I could easily list more than half their entire catalogue if I went down that road….
    -L.

     
  9. Lauryn

    April 1, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Yes, you know how I swore I’d shut up? Well, I will. After this:

    “White Winter Hymnal”
    “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song”
    “Blue Ridge Mountains”
    -All by Fleet Foxes

    (If I had to just pick one of these though, I’d say “Blue Ridge Mountains”).

    Okay…that’s it!! I swear!!
    -Lauryn

     

Leave a Reply

 
