RSS

Cover #6 – Neutral Milk Hotel, “Two Headed Boy”

06 Apr

Cover #6 is Neutral Milk Hotel’s “Two Headed Boy”, from their 1998 album In An Aeroplane Over The Sea, words and music by Jeff Magnum.

Neutral Milk Hotel may be the Velvet Underground of their day, or at least their scene.  No one I know actually bought this record when it came out, but everyone – everyone – loves it now.  Lots of bands cover them.  As a matter of fact, I first heard of them because I heard the Dresden Dolls covering “Two Headed Boy.”  M. Ward covered “In An Aeroplane Over The Sea”, and I thought long and hard about bashing out a cover of “Holland, 1945”, my personal fave.

The Introverts do a good cover of this too, by the way.  That’s my friend Emily’s folk duo.  Me, I wanted to see what this would sound like as a full rock song, so there’s drums and such.  I’ve never heard it done this way before, and I’m proud of how it turned out.  It’s an ode to, well, the two headed boy.  It’s a rare medical condition that actually occurs naturally in nature – there are twin girls, Abilgail and Brittany Hensel, who are both healthy, normal, and happen to share the same body.  These people exist, and it’s strange and wonderful.

Personally, I always thought I had a conjoined twin living in my head like in The Dark Half. But that’s neither here nor there.

John Olson’s actually the one who suggested I do this tune, so this one’s going out to him.  Download it here, or stream by clicking the link above.

Next up….: Oh, what the heck.  Muppets.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2009 in April Covers, music

 

2 responses to “Cover #6 – Neutral Milk Hotel, “Two Headed Boy”

  1. Bill D.

    April 6, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    You could still do Holland, 1945. You even should still do Holland, 1945. That’d be kind of excellent.

     
  2. John Olson

    April 6, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I love it! I especially enjoy the duet with the boy. Though I suppose it should be a trio… Very cool. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
