RSS

Cover #7 – Ernie, “I Don’t Want To Live On The Moon”

07 Apr

Cover #7 is “I Don’t Want To Live On The Moon” from the PBS series Sesame Street, as performed by Ernie (Jim Henson).  It was written by Jeff Moss.

This one’s just pretty.

Well, no.  It’s more that just pretty.  It’s nostalgic, obviously, but it’s about realizing what true happiness is and coming to terms with the gap between fantasy and reality.  With muppets.

The hippies that wrote the old Sesame Street really knew what they were doing.  They wrote sketches and songs that worked on a couple levels, which you could enjoy if you were 4 or 34.  And they realized something important, something we’ve forgotten nowadays in our standardized testing/educational TV or else child rearing culture: sometimes, the most important lessons aren’t the ones that will help you pass second grade.  Sometimes, they’re the intangibles that help you come to terms with your entire life.

So: a Muppet song.  I love the Muppets.  I love Ernie.  Heck, I look like Ernie.  Download.  Stream above.

Next up…: She says there’s ants in the carpet.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2009 in April Covers, music

 

2 responses to “Cover #7 – Ernie, “I Don’t Want To Live On The Moon”

  1. Gilly

    April 7, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    That’s really lovely. I’m always nervous of Muppet covers, because I love the originals so much, but I like that a lot. Thanks!

     
  2. beth

    April 9, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Even as a kid this song made me cry and cry. I didn’t even know exactly why at the time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
