RSS

Cover #11 – The Magnetic Fields, “The Desperate Things You Made Me Do”

11 Apr

Cover #11 is “The Desperate Things You Made Me Do” by The Magnetic Fields.  It was written by Stephin Merritt.

Stephin Merritt wrote all 13 songs for the Lemony Snicket audio books, the soundtrack to the stage version of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, certain songs for The Adventures of Pete and Pete, and the songs of The Magnetic Fields, Future Bible Heroes, The Gothic Archies, and The 6ths.  He has a chiuahua named Irving Berlin.  He hangs out with Daniel Handler, Sarah Vowell, Ira Glass, and all those neat grown-ups I want to be just like.  He released an album called 69 Love Songs which – I swear to God – has 69 songs on it, and they’re nearly all good.

The man deserves much better than my cover, which is average at best, and certainly not the best one I’ve done this month.  The lower registers of my voice aren’t quite as confident as the mid-range, and the guitar goes awry during the second chorus.  And yet… I dunno.  I’m putting it up anyway, because you try recording a song a day for a month and making them all gems.

There are parts of my version I like.  I like the end.  I like the “accordion.”   Ooh, and I like how I attempted to go for a sound that was a cross between The Magnetic Fields in concert and The Magnetic Fields on record.  Live, they’re acoustic-with-piano-and-mandolin-and-accordion.  On the record, it’s all electronics and reverb.  So: we have a subdued guitar sound with reverb on the riff and an electronic accordion.  Okay.  That part I like.

You know who could totally do one cover a day for a month, and it’d all be awesome?  Stephin Merritt.  Yeah.  He’d actually do this project really well.

DownloadStream.

Next up…:  So why does he play with an orange rind?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2009 in April Covers, music

 

2 responses to “Cover #11 – The Magnetic Fields, “The Desperate Things You Made Me Do”

  1. fever2tell

    April 12, 2009 at 1:00 am

    the “accordion” made me happy.

    like accordions do.

     
  2. Bill Doughty

    April 12, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Oooh, Pete and Pete. You should cover the theme song, which I believe was called Happily Deranged. I think a group named Polaris did it? It was such a rad song. I can imagine you doing good things with it. Any my birthday is April 30th. I’m just sayin’.

     

Leave a Reply

 
