RSS

covers month so far….

19 Apr

First of all, I’d like to thank Julia for bringing this project to the attention of Brian from Coverville, an awesome podcast consisting solely of, well, cover songs.  I’m notoriously bad at promoting myself (because I suffer from a rare psychological disorder where I honestly can’t tell the difference between self-promotion and bragging) so it’s great to have friends who’ll do that sort of thing for me.  Again, thanks to Jon and Chris from Generation Goat for pimpin’ this madness on their podcast last week.

Now, then:  I’m starting a new job (huzzah) but I’m still working my old job, which means that Sunday is essentially a 17-hour work day for me – midnight to 5pm.  Saturday was hectic, Sunday evening will be spent sleeping, and Monday I’m back at the aforementioned new job.

We’ll get back to our regularly scheduled program in due course, however, with covers (probably) from Better Than Ezra, the Titanic lady, Smashing Pumpkins,  and more.  We’ll play catch up.  There will be 30 covers this month – they just might be a little bit off schedule.

Right now, though, I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to survive the next 18 hours without losing the ability to speak in complete sentences.  Bear with me.

Below the cut, you’ll find a rundown of all the covers so far.

1 – “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg”, The Temptations

2 – “Shoplifters Of The World Unite”, The Smiths

3 – “Dead!”, My Chemical Romance

4- “Parachute”, Guster

5-“Pennyroyal Tea”, Nirvana

6- “Two Headed Boy”, Neutral Milk Hotel

7-“I Don’t Want To Live On The Moon”, Sesame Street

8-“End Of A Century”, Blur

9-“Reptile”, Nine Inch Nails

10-“Straight Up”, Paula Abdul

11-“The Desperate Things You Made Me Do”, The Magnetic Fields

12-“Putting The Damage On”, Tori Amos

13-“Damaged”, Plumb

14-“Spitting Games”, Snow Patrol

15-“Half Jack”, The Dresden Dolls

16-“River”, Bill Staines

17-“Supersonic”, Oasis

18-“Heaven Is A Place On Earth”, Belinda Carlisle

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 19, 2009 in April Covers

 

One response to “covers month so far….

  1. Lauryn

    April 22, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Your new job is with the national park service?!!?!?!

    *stifling abnormally gleeful giggles*

    That means…it’s…The Return of Ranger Andy.

    Doesn’t it?!??!

    (This idea makes me far giddier than it probably should, but what else are dorky big sisters for?!)

    Seriously, congrats on the new job!!
    Best,
    -Lauryn

     

Leave a Reply

 
