RSS

we are coming

12 Jul

Watch Torchwood: Children of Earth when it rolls around on BBC America next week.   Just watch it.  I don’t care if you’ve never seen Torchwood, or if you don’t like science fiction, or if you don’t get BBC America, or if you don’t own a television, or if you don’t have eyeballs.  Find some eyeballs and watch it.   Best piece of serialized science fiction television ever.  Ever.

“But, Andy, Battlestar Gal-

“EVER!”

(do not question me, for I am GEEKUSA.)

What’s it about?  Well, without spoiling anything, it’s about this: one fine day, every child on the planet stopped and said, in unison, “WE ARE COMING.”  Turns out the “we” is an alien species who’s using the kids as a megaphone to announce their arrival.  The aliens do not have the best of intentions.  Neither, in fact, does the British government.   Things go very quickly from Independence Day to V for Vendetta. And that’s all I’m going to tell you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2009 in doctor who, tv

 

3 responses to “we are coming

  1. Lauryn

    July 12, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Oh, you better *believe* I’m going to be watching this. I’ve been salivating over the promos for weeks and am practically bouncing out of my skin with excitement.

    I’m still pissed at the writers (a bit) for killing off my two favorite characters last season (one of them twice!), but I love this show so much – it was my first intro to BBC-type-scifi – and this looks like it’s going to be absolutely beyond awesome.

    -Lauryn

     
  2. Bill D.

    July 14, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Getting both this and Planet of the Dead on BBC America in the same week is causing a lot of excitement in the Doughty household. Erin and I watched the long Children of Earth trailer BBCA ran during The Next Doctor in awe-struck silence.

     
  3. Lauryn

    July 20, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Day One just aired….

    *MEEP*!!

    But, but…but..wha?!

    Howwww?

    Whyyyyy?!

    Hee!! It’s awesome already, and I can’t wait for Day Two!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
