RSS

30 Day Song Challenge – Song #3: A Song That Makes You Happy

12 Feb

Day 3

Theme: A Song That Makes You Happy.

Artist: Chumbawumba

Song: “Tubthumping”

Shut up.  It does.

Looking at the official rules for the 30 Day Song Challenge, there are a couple of other places I could have put this tune.  “Your Favorite Guilty Pleasure” for one.  Or “A Song That You Want Played At Your Funeral.”   Or “A Song That Describes You.”

It’s a guilty pleasure because, on first listen, it’s a gloriously mindless one-hit wonder from the tail end of the ’90s version of the “alternative era.”  I want it played at my funeral because I think that would be hilarious.  And it describes me because, you know, I get knocked down, but I get up again.  Or something.   More to the point, I talk too much and I think I’m really interesting, especially when I’ve had a pint.  An’ all that.

But, no: this song by everyone’s favorite musical UK anarchist collective just makes me happy whenever I hear it.  It’s the only song I’ve ever heard that manages to be equally cynical and optimistic.  And if you’re cynical like me, then optimism can be a hard sell.

Chumbawumba’s always been more clever than you think they are, anyway.  If this song is about a guy holding court at a pub (which it is) then it makes perfect sense that first, he sings the songs that remind him of the good times, and then… as the night progresses… no, mate, I was f**king wrong.  Them were the BEST times, they was!  Which is why he keeps misquoting pop songs.  Don’t cry for me, next door neighbor indeed.

I can write all the  music-geek stuff you could ever want to hear, but the fact of the matter is “Tubthumping” just makes me jump around and sing whenever I hear it.  And that I can’t properly put into words.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2011 in 30 day song challenge, music

 

Leave a Reply

 
