RSS

Daily Archives: February 23, 2008

How to fix the Oscars

James Hannaham offers his suggestions on Salon.  I like this part:

Add new categories. Most Derivative Picture. Most Well-Cast Bad Actor. Most Hands-on Script Doctor. Worst Catering. Most Egregiously Snubbed Director. Best Picture Nobody Saw. Best Performance by an Extra. Worst Unsupporting Nonactress. Straightest-Acting Gay Actor. Most Likely to Die Before Delivering Another Oscar-Worthy Performance. Still a Drunk. Only Asian Actor. Past Oscar That We Now Rescind, Shamefacedly.

I’m still watchin’ them.  There are some years where I make it a point to see at least one of the Best Picture nominees.  This year, however, I’m a broke sonnabitch, so I actually haven’t seen a single one.  However, strangely enough, I’ve seen two out of the three Best Animated Features.  I’m pulling for Persepolis, but if Ratatouille wins, I’ll sleep okay.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2008 in movies, not here, not me

 

niiice!: “Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiego?”

Oh, the television I watched when I was young. There was Quantum Leap and Star Trek: The Next Generation and Doctor Who on channel 44 and Tiny Toon Adventures… and every day, at around 5pm, there was Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiego?

It was, as you may recall, a game show based on the popular computer game series; a series beloved by history and social studies teachers who needed to kill an afternoon. The TV version featured Greg Lee in a fedora as your chipper and sprightly host, the late great Lynne Thigpen as The Chief of ACME Crime Net, and, of course, the inescapable Rockapella, a veritable Greek chorus of white man jive.

Read the rest of this entry »

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2008 in games, Niiice!, nostalgia, tv, youtube